3D Landscape Model

I created a small yet effective model of a futuristic city scape and made it 3D and put perspective into it. I chose this image as I really liked the aesthetics of the image, the bright colours really make the image pop and how the composistion of the image is simple yet holds alot of detail.

I first started with four of these, each piece was going to be another layer to give it that 3D pop out affect I am after. Each of these images were spray mounted and fixed to a thick foam board to increase the strength as to make it more stable when creating the model.

I first got one of the boards and decided which part of the would fit each layer. Background. Middle-ground and foreground. Once I decided this I took a sharp blade and started slicing into the foam to get precise and clean cuts on the sky scrapers. Once I got the clean cut and cleaned up the edges I used the foam pieces that remained from cutting the boarders and used it to prop up the middle ground. This caused the middle ground to look distanced from the background and look like it was becoming more 3D.

I did the same and used a ruler to cut out the ocean reflection to make sure the cut was as straight and precise as possible. For this foreground I decided to make it look angled as to get a more powerful perspective to make it seem like it was coming out towards the viewer. To do this I used more of the discarded foam pieces and layered them at a steep angle to and used doubled sided sticky pads to stick it to the base of the the middle-ground. This propped it up at the bottom to make the bottom of the foam appear as it is coming outwards.

After finished this I decided to create a box to enclose it all. This would force the perspectives even more and make it look cleaner and just better in general. Making it a small model of a city. I can say I am really happy with the way this one turned out and would love to do it again as I feel I could do better and create a more detailed one with more layers and a more complex image.

Leave a comment